There are hundreds of crimes out there that not only affect the offender and the victim, but also their families and friends. In some states, certain crimes are felonies and others are misdemeanors. The majority of domestic violence crimes are against women, and in the United States, a woman is assaulted every nine seconds. Whether it comes from a nasty breakup, or a controlling spouse, violence of this nature is a huge offense. Each state has their own laws against domestic violence and some are more intense than others.
In Arizona, anyone convicted of a domestic violence offense is ordered to take at least 26 weeks of domestic violence classes. This alone can cost up to $600. Being that firearm possession is legal in Arizona, those who are convicted of domestic violence will forever lost their right to own a firearm. The law requires the victim to have a Protective Order against the offender, which can help avoid and further criminal action against them. Another consequence is that teachers will lose their fingerprint clearance card and it will be revoked.
California is among the list of states with strict, and necessary, domestic violence laws. They also believe and weapons should be removed from the home at the time the police arrive for a domestic violence call. Police offers can be instructed to issue an Emergency Protective Order during the time of the crime. Keeping the families safety in mind, the authorities of California can penalize the offender when it comes to child custody. This offense is extremely detrimental. Like most states, a restraining order should be filed in order to fully protect yourself and your family from this ever happening again.
In the early 1990’s, Florida became one of the most aggressive states in the United States regarding domestic violence. Before it was considered a crime, it was looked at as a “family issue”. The population of Floridians believes it is a widespread issue, with a small percentage feeling it is not. Domestic violence crimes can be charged as either misdemeanor or felony charges. Employers also frown upon hiring someone who was even convicted or involved in domestic violence. This can stay on your record for up to seven years and can be seen on any background check.
For those who are in the U.S. military, a domestic violence conviction takes away one of the main functions of a soldier. They are no longer allowed to handle a firearm once convicted.
If you were injured and are out of work, contact a personal injury attorney in Glendale for legal advice and guidance.